Well, it is a sad day in our household.  We just received the call we never wanted to get.  My 90 year old grandmother just passed away less than half an hour ago.  On Friday, she had a severe stroke that left her paralized on her right side.  The doctor gave her four days on Saturday.  I think she knew it was her time.  Besides, over the past thirteen years she has wanteed to see grandpa again.  They were married for nearly sixty years when he passed away in 1995.  I can only imagine seeing grandpa standing with St. Peter at the gates of heaven to welcome grandma home.

There are two songs that best describe how I feel at the moment.

One True Friend, performed by Bette Midler

And now, is it too late to say
How you made my life so different in your quiet way?
I can see the joy in simple things,
A sunlit sky and all the songs we used to sing.

I have walked and I have I prayed.
I could forgive and we could start again.
In the end,
You are my one true friend.

For all, all the times you closed your eyes,
Allowing me to stumble or to be surprised,
By life, with all its twists and turns.
I made mistakes, you always knew that I would learn.

And when I left, its you who stayed.
You always knew that Id come home again.
In the end,
You are my one true friend.

Though love may break, it never dies.
It changes shape, through changing eyes.
What I denied, I now can see.
You always were the light inside of me.

I know, I know, I know, I know it was you.

I have walked and I have I prayed.
I could forgive and we could start again.
In the end, you are my one true friend.

My one true friend.
I always, always knew,
I always knew that it was you,
My one true friend.

The Rose, also performed by Bette

Some say love, it is a river, that drowns the tender reed
Some say love, it is a razor, that leaves your soul to bleed
Some say love, it is a hunger, an endless aching need
I say love, it is a flower, and you, its only seed

Its the heart afraid of breaking, that never learns to dance
Its the dream afraid of waking, that never takes the chance
Its the one who wont be taken, the one who cant seem to give
And the soul afraid of dying, that never learns to live

When the night has been too lonely and the road has been too long
And you think that love is only for the lucky and the strong
Just remember that in the winter, far beneath the bitter snow
Lies the seed, that with the suns love in the spring becomes the rose.

Grandma, you will be sorely missed.  You will, however, never be forgotten.  To you I dedicate our annual show that Ryan and I host in the ICS.

I love you grandma.

Michael

