First off I would like to say sorry to anyone who reads my blog for the delay in writing since my last post.

Well dear ones,

According to the state of California website for the results for all of this years elections, they say that all the uncounted absentee and provisional ballots must be counted within 35 days after the election and then we will have the final results.

So I did my own research and this is what I found. 

According to the results listed: 5,661,583 votes were cast for Yes on 8, while No on 8 carried 5,154,457 votes.  This seperated us by 507,126 votes.  Now the kicker.  There are 2,738,790 ballots that remain to be counted.  This means the vote could swing in our favor.  I actually did some calculations today and found what we would need to win the vote for No on 8.

In order to win, we need 59.3% of the votes to be No votes, and they would need no more than 40.7% Yes’s.  This would turn the tide to tally up to 6,778,559 No’s to 6,776,271 Yes’s.  This would put us in the lead by 2288 votes.  I know I definately could live with that.  This means that only 1,377,611 votes need to be No’s and we won the battle.  I know this seems a little far out there, but I like to stay as positive as possible.

Now to see where most of the votes came from on both sides from the top five No percentages and the top five Yes percentages.

San Francisco County with 76.1% NO;   Marin County with 75% NO;   Santa Cruz County with 71.4% NO;   Sonoma County with 66.1% NO; and rounding out those five, San Mateo County with 62.3% NO.

The Number 1 YES county in the state of California with 75.4% of the votes saying YES, Tulare County; Kern County with 75.3% YES; Modoc County 74.2% YES; Kings County with 73.8% YES; and rounding out those five, Madera County with 73.4% YES.

Now I know many of you know that the race is close with a 52.4% Yes vote vs. 47.6% No vote.  So I thought I would the counties who actually fell in that range both ways.  Montery County; 52% NO.  Los Angeles County, 50.5% YES; Nevada County, 50.8% YES; and San Luis Obispo County, 51.5% YES.

NOw for the saddest part of all.  According to all the news reports, they were expecting a much higher turnout this year of voters than they have in the past.  The news this week reported that the increase was much smaller than expected; less than 1% of an increase added on to the polls from four years ago.  With this said , I looked at the numbers from the state and they said that there are 17,304,091 registered voters in California and that only 11,077,208 voters turned out to vote.  That is 60% of the registered voters that actually cared to make a difference one way or the other.  This means 6,226,883 people didn’t care what actually happens to our state or country by not voting.  Now I know that these numbers are going to be skewed because of deaths that have yet to be filed in regards to someone who is a registered voter, and that there are some cercumstances that cannot be preveted such as hospital stays and emergencies with family, but even still that is a lot of people we could have had on our side.

So finally I would like to present you in order the counties across the state with the lowest registered voter turnout.  1. San Benito County – 38.7% turnout. 2. Sutter County – 43.9%.  3. Mendocino County – 45.9%.  4. Riverside County – 50.1%.  5. Fresno County – 50.8%.

So now that I am done with my psychological statistics, and have gotten that out of my system, please keep in mind that this race isn’t over until every provisional ballot and every absentee ballot is counted.

Just to cover my own assets and to give you the website if you want anymore information, please visit

http://vote.sos.ca.gov/

