Growing up in a family unit where arguments were an ingredient on a daily basis, I noticed that as I studied this section, my family may well have positively benefitted from family therapy.

It is my conviction that my parents learned their quarrelling behaviors from their parents.  I believe nonetheless, that this behavior can be unlearned.  On the other hand, the element that strikes me, is that I do not recollect hearing or having any knowledge about my mothers parents ever fighting, while I do know that my dads parents, and for that issue the whole family, always fought.

The second matter with my parents is something that I have learned from them and am now trying to unlearn myself, that is, the “here-and-now” problems.  {It is my perception that this is supposed to focus on present situations and not the past.}  My parents were infamous for this, and depressing to utter, I have done the same thing, bringing up the past troubles and now focusing on the “here-and-now.”  As long as I have the opportunity to change this learned behavior in my existence, I will be a more contented individual and my bond with my husband can cultivate further.

I also have been focusing a lot of my awareness on me and my husband’s best-friend’s since I have been taking psychology course-work here at Chapman.

Adam and Zack have been together for six years and have a brilliant, loving relationship; the predicament that they have on the one hand, is their cognitive distortions connecting them.  Zack, the younger of the two, is relentlessly condemning Adam of having an affair if he hasn’t come home from work right away and has his cell phone off; the arbitrary inference.  Adam, supplementary, deals frequently with the same illustration in the text in the biased explanations.  Our friends are absolutely not devoid of the normal marital tribulations; finances, work, etc.  Conversely, these distortions seem to be the most widespread troubles in their marriage.

