It is my belief that this chapter in itself was the reason that I needed to take this course at this time in my coursework. As a loving, supportive husband to a blind, deaf, gay male, I suppose that this chapter was intended to assist me in seeing that there is more than therapy that I may need in order to handle the fact that blindness and deafness not only affects and impacts my husband’s life, but it also affects and impacts mine as well.
Secondly, being in a civil union with my partner, and planning on being officially married this summer, I find the PREP (Preventive Intervention and Relationship Enrichment Program) to be something that both Ryan and I would greatly benefit from. Had we been offered this kind of help before we had our originally commitment ceremony five years ago, we definitely would have taken up the opportunity to learn all we could about being a couple and being in a committed relationship from a therapist. This type of program in therapy seems to be, in my opinion, the exact thing that every couple should have to go through, rather prior to marriage, in a great marriage, or even in a troubled marriage. It is my judgment, and although to my knowledge this has yet to be tested, that this might actually decrease the divorce rate that has seemed to become an epidemic of great proportions in this country.
Finally, there was a section that actually fascinated me. In the last twelve years, the Coalition of Marriage, Couple, and Family Education has seemed to make a great deal of difference in “empowering people to function more effectively within marriage, family, or work situations.” The text notes that this is the “testifying to the coming of age of this subspecialty.” This could not have been more correct. With California’s Supreme Court decision this last week saying that it is unconstitutional to deny two men or two women the right to marry; I see this as becoming a new topic, gay and lesbian marriage, very soon for this program. However, it is my opinion that more practitioners, not of the clergy, should be trained in this subspecialty so that the LGBT community can actually receive the help that they desire in their marriage or relationship that they desire without feeling like they will be condemned for who they are and their beliefs. Maybe this is an area I may have to look into so that I may be of more assistance that what I am looking at doing now in the LGBT community.

