H. R. 1913

In order to give this one it’s just credit, please read the first web sites Section 2 Findings before continuing on.

http://thomas.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/D?c111:1:./temp/~c111wwAJJh::

Now, I understand that there are the far right and the far left fanatics. I truly believe that everyone has free will to choose how they live their lives. But when it “encroaches” on others, such as telling me that I cannot get married because I am gay, that is taking things a bit too far. What if I was to tell every church going, God believing, Christian in America that they could no longer do several things that they are used to, such as not eating shellfish for example, I would then be encroaching on their rights and free will.

I brought all this up to show you a few sights that evolve around the Congressional Bill that you read a little bit of.

The first example is from Dr. Dobson’s Focus on the Family program. There are true biases toward this Congressional Bill and even more unusual, the writer has trouble writing certain parts. (e.g. Bill H.R.1913 states that whoever “attempts to cause bodily injury to any person, because of the actual or perceived religion, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity, or disability of any person” commits a hate crime.) Where is this sentence going? What is the journalist trying to say? In my reading of this sentence, he never finished his thoughts.
I don’t think I need to go on any more about this one.

http://www.lifesitenews.com/ldn/2009/may/09052002.html

The second site doesn’t need much to be said. It seems that the author is biased towards religious beliefs. All you have to do is read the first three paragraphs to see this.

http://www.americanthinker.com/2009/05/hate_crimes_and_the_sedition_a.html

The third one is on the same bill. But this one I find a bit funny (to an extent).
The author writes, “The freedom of Christians and others who follow Biblical teaching to express their faith will be threatened by the push to expand homosexual rights.”
Since when did their (the Christians) right to preach the gospel come into play in this bill? I read nothing of the sort.

http://www.churchexecutive.com/news.asp?N_ID=1896

